Advancing paediatric surgery through education and research

Congress round-up

64th Scientific Meeting

BAPS IPEG LONDON 2017-6.001Amsterdam seems a distant memory as we look ahead to 2017. Our dates for our 64th Scientific Meeting have been announced. 2017’s Congress will take place from the 19th-21st July at the Hilton Metropole, London in conjunction with IPEG. We will be opening for abstract submissions earlier for 2017 and will also open registration early. Please look out for further announcements.

Prize Winners at BAPS 2016

It is with great pleasure that we announce the prize winners at this year’s congress:

Peter Paul Rickham Prize

Baps 2016 prize Winner SLFor best basic science paper by a trainee was awarded to Stavros Loukogeorgakis from ICH,London and Department of Development and Regeneration, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Leuven, Belgium, for his paper on ‘DELIVERY OF VASCULAR ENDOTHELIAL GROWTH FACTOR WITH BIOCOMPATIBLE NANOPARTICLES REVERSES STRUCTURAL ARTERIAL ABNORMALITIES IN THE NITROFEN RAT MODEL OF CONGENITAL DIAPHRAGMATIC HERNIA

President’s Prize

Baps 2016 prize Winner AKFor best clinical paper was awarded to Anna Kerola Children’s Hospital, University of Helsinki and Helsinki University Hospital, Helsinki, Finland, for her paper on ‘DIFFERENTIAL PROGRESSION OF LIVER FIBROSIS IN SYNDROMIC AND ISOLATED BILIARY ATRESIA

Popular Poster Prize

(Voted for by delegates) was awarded to Molly Gilmartin, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Oxford, UK for ‘TISSUE CRYOPRESERVATION – EVALUATION OF A NEW SERVICE AND EXPANSION VIA A THIRD PARTY MODEL

Judges Poster Prize

Baps 2016 prize Winner NG(Voted for by the poster chairs) was awarded to Jessica Ng, Department of Paediatric Surgery, Children’s Hospital, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Oxford, UK, and Department of Paediatric Radiology, Children’s Hospital, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Oxford, UK, for ‘INTUSSUSCEPTION AND ROTAVIRUS VACCINE: INCREASED AWARENESS, INCREASED DEMAND?’.

We congratulate all our prize winners, and thank all the presenters for their contribution to the scientific programme.